Colors on whimsy: art archive

drawing of a chair
Some scans from an old sketchbook— whimsy with art markers.
whimsical banner
(Always with the forks)
drawing of a harlequin patterned tableThis one is a drawing of a table i inherited from my grandparents’ house. I stripped the top surfaces and painted a black and white harlequin pattern which nicely offset the brown veneer and brass-tipped legs. I had to leave it behind when I moved back to NYC in 1998, and my brother took it on. See photographic evidence below.
photo of a harlequin patterned table
The stereopticon (and lots of 3D images for it) was also from my grandparents.


drawing of a table
And another table drawing. This began as merely a metal frame, found on the sidewalk in Manhattan. I used plywood and a jigsaw to create the two trapezoidal surfaces, then painstakingly silhouetted many, many images from old 1950s LIFE magazines with an x-acto knife, and finished the thing with resin. Here is a photo (contemporary) of said table. As you can see, the colors have faded and resin has yellowed.When it was new, the colors in the ads were all *bright* as was the white of the pages.life_table_2016
I foolishly haven’t any photographic evidence from its inception, but its mellower look fits in nicely with my less eclectic, more Victorian-slanted current sense of decor.

 

 

One thought on “Colors on whimsy: art archive

  1. Hey there! Someone in my Myspace group shared this website with us so I came to check
    it out. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m book-marking and will be tweeting
    this to my followers! Excellent blog and amazing design and style.

Leave a Reply

